Amanda Cockrell

Selected Works

Young Adult Novel
Saints and soldiers and the Untied Church of Dog
The Hollywood blacklist and a delayed funeral
Historical novel of a Roman legion in Britain
The Horse Catchers trilogy
Mythological novel of the coming of the horse to the American Southwest
Volume 2 in The Horse Catchers trilogy
Volume 3 in The Horse Catchers trilogy
The Deer Dancers trilogy
Mythological novel of the beginning of art
Volume 2 in The Deer Dancers trilogy
Volume 3 in The Deer Dancers trilogy
Children's books
By my mother, Marian Cockrell, the story of an enchanted castle on the edge of Fairyland


What We Keep Is Not Always What Will Stay
Saints and soldiers and the Untied Church of Dog

"There was a late frost last night and you could hear the wind machines going all over the valley to keep the oranges from freezing. They set up funny echoes sometimes, tricks of the sound waves. I kept thinking I could hear the Underworld doors banging shut behind someone, Jesse maybe. Or maybe just behind all our mistakes."

Fifteen-year-old Angie didn't used to think too much about God - until things started getting weird. Like the statue of St. Felix, her secret confidante, suddenly coming off his plinth and talking back at her. Like Angie's mom, about to bust up her third marriage for no apparent reason. And weirdest of all, Jesse Francis, home from Afghanistan with his leg blown off and expected to fit back in at school. Does any of it make sense or is life - and the deity, who's supposed to have a handle on stuff like this - as mixed up as the bumper sticker Angie sees from the "Untied Church of Dog"?

Against the advice of an increasingly vocal St. Felix (who knows a thing or two about war), Angie finds herself falling for Jesse's allure - a guy who's been through so much more than regular high-school kids. But Jesse is battling some major demons, and as Angie starts losing control of the situation, she has to ask - can one person ever make things right for someone else?

Pomegranate Seed
“Amanda Cockrell has written a zinger of a novel with serious import—here’s the real human tragedy of the Hollywood blacklist with verve and style. Cockrell’s unerring sense of time and place allows her to present California without cliche, then and now, as she shifts between past and present time. A mesmerizing read.”
-- Lee Smith

“Take an authentic and evocative summoning up of more than half a century of Hollywood history, from the silents to the hard edges of here and now; add on a lively and diverse cast of characters, credible people as surprising and memorable as the pilgrims in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales; mix well with a suspenseful, page-turning story; then season with humor and with style, and you have the enchanting formula for Pomegranate Seed. Amanda Cockrell is a master magician and this novel is a pleasure to read from first to last. See for yourself.”
-- George Garrett

The Legions of the Mist
"Amanda Cockrell's first novel is more than an auspicious debut; it is an extraordinary achivement. She tells us an abundantly various and exciting tale, based solidly on assimilated historical fact and yet richly innovative, imaginatively speculative wherever it must be so. Ms. Cockrell has chosen, and been chosen by, a haunting era just on the edges of present memory, a place where myths begin. And she has made the most of it."
-- George Garrett

When the Horses Came
Volume 1 in The Horse Catchers trilogy.

"Amanda Cockrell's books are the most satisfying stories about prehistoric people that I have ever read. Like Patrick O'Brien's sea stories, they are funny, humane novels of character and manners, as well as excellent adventures"
-- Ursula K. LeGuin

Children of the Horse
Volume 2 in The Horse Catchers trilogy.

Blue Jay and his sister Dances, descendants of the now-legendary Horse Bringers, travel to the Cities-in-the-West in search of more horses.

The Rain Child
Volume 3 in The Horse Catchers trilogy.

Rain Child, in search of a stray horse, finds instead a magical treasure. The iron pot is the first of four enchanted gifts that Coyote will use to lure Rain Child and her horses north for his own purposes.

Daughter of the Sky
Volume 1 in The Deer Dancers trilogy.

"A work of mythic beauty"
-- Kathleen O'Neal Gear and W. Michael Gear

“In our current political climate, what concerns could be more contemporary than these: What is the role of the artist? What good does any individual’s art contribute to the people? What toll does making art exact on the individual? Which changes are the good changes?
“Believe me, she knows how to tell a good story. But lots of writers know how to tell a good story. Knowing, too, how to give texture and meaning to characters as removed in time as these; and knowing how to examine the spiritual world by depicting the physical one—these are rare gifts.”
-- Monty S. Leitch, Roanoke Times

Wind Caller's Children
Volume 2 in The Deer Dancers trilogy.

"A novel of magical realism"
-- Ursula K. LeGuin

The Long Walk
Volume 3 in The Deer Dancers trilogy.

Others' Child and Night Hawk roam along the trade trails to the shore of the Endless Water.

Shadow Castle
By my mother, Marian Cockrell
Now back in print, in an expanded edition with the original illustrations and cover art, and six new chapters.